A Journeys History of Maharajas’ Express Itineraries

Maharajas’ Express was introduced in 2010. Since its maiden trip, there are numerous things, which have been changed. Initially, only 82 passengers were allowed. The cost of ticket per head started at mere $800 per night and it has rose through the passage of time. The same goes for itineraries too.
Since its maiden trip, several itineraries were added and removed based on the choice of the travelers.
Here are the old itineraries, which were introduced by Maharajas’ Express built were shMaharajas' Express Route Maport lived or overpowered by better itineraries.


Celestial India Itinerary

This trip started in Kolkata and ended in Delhi. It covered main destinations like Bodh Gaya, Varanasi, Bandhavgarh national park, Saddupura, Khajuraho, Agra and Gwalior. It spanned for eight days and seven nights.

Classic India Itinerary

It was the exact opposite of Celestial India itinerary. The destinations were literally the same but, in the reverse order.
It started in Delhi and covered Gwalior, Agra, Khajuraho, Saddhupura, Bandhavgarh National Park, Varanasi and Bodh Gaya, before halting at Kolkata.

Princely India Itinerary

This itinerary covered the important princely states of the yesteryear. The itinerary started in Mumbai and ended in Delhi. It covered destinations like Agra, Varanasi, Udaipur, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Bikaner and others.

Royal India Itinerary

This was the exact reverse of Princely India itinerary. The trip started in Delhi and ended in Mumbai. It covered the same destinations like the Princely India itinerary.
Unlike many other luxury train India trip, this itinerary focused on providing a clear look at the hidden gems of the land.
Cultural Odyssey
It is quite similar to the classic India Itinerary and added a dash of cultural activities at each destination. The Maharajas express train route started and ended in New Delhi.
After covering Gwalior, Agra, Saddhupura, Bandhavgarh national Park, Orchha and others, the train continued to Lucknow and Nawabi regions before stopping at New Delhi.
Later, in 2013, the five grand voyages were introduced in Maharajas’ Express train, which are still in use. The five grand itineraries are Heritage of India, Treasures of India, Gems of India, Indian Panorama and Indian Splendor.
Quite recently, the train has added two more itineraries to the list to cover southern regions. The new itineraries of the train are Southern Jewels and Southern Sojourn.
In total, these seven itineraries are open for tourists to book and explore the iconic and hidden regions of India. Are you ready for a luxurious sumptuous vacation in a train? Visit the official site of the train or any GSA site to pre-book your tickets, today.

Dinesh Taylor

I am Dinesh, a content writer at Writeup . I wrote many articles at this website. Read my post regularly and share with your friends.

error: Content is protected !!